North Texas hospital employees honored in virtual video

A salute to the North Texas hospital workforce, the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) Foundation’s 24th Annual Employee of the Year Luncheon virtual video was posted on Monday announcing this year’s recipients. More than 130 nominees were acknowledged, with recipients announced from a pool of 55 area hospitals.

The video can be viewed here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the in-person Luncheon was cancelled in June.

“We want this to be a memorable day for these outstanding North Texas hospital employees,” said Jen Miff, President of the DFWHC Foundation. “The goal of these awards is to recognize hospital staff who contribute to exceptional patient and community experiences. Given the global pandemic, it is more important than ever to honor our healthcare heroes as they work tirelessly to support patients, the community, and each other. We would like to congratulate all nominees and recipients. It is our distinct honor to applaud each and every one of them.”

Recipients included:

Physician Award
Dr. Jennifer Coffman, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Volunteer Award
Clarence Griffith, Baylor University Medical Center Dallas

Preceptor Award
Masoud Elmaawy, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

System Award
Ryan Baker, Senior Project Manager, Children’s Health

Community Service Award
Kiele Samuel, Registered Nurse, Children’s Health

Special Recognition Awards
Hector Murillo, Registered Nurse, Children’s Medical Center Plano
Loan VanAuker, Infection Prevention, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Waxahachie
Jamie Harrington, NICU Nurse, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center
Janaki Subramanian, Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

Employee of the Year Awards
Sara Landsee, RN Trauma Coordinator, Texas Health Frisco
Jessica Lamarre, Registered Nurse, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Plano
Christy Boucher, RN Emergency Services, Medical City Arlington
Kaelea Butterfield, Clinical Nurse Coordinator, Medical City Dallas

Rex McRae Scholarship
Michelle Fraile, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

ACHE North Texas Scholarship
Mackenzie Wood, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Board members of the North Texas chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) judged the nominations in August. Individual and hospital names were removed in advance and selections were based entirely on the facts presented within the form letter. Nominees were separated into four categories of hospitals including 1-99 beds, 100-250 beds, 251-499 beds and 500-plus beds.

The 2020 sponsors of the virtual event were:
Hall Render
CampbellWilson, LLP
Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP
Keystone Healthcare Partners
GroupOne Background Screening
Baylor Scott & White Health
Children’s Health
Cook Children’s
Medical City Healthcare
Methodist Health System
Texas Health Resources
UT Southwestern.