North Texas hospital employees awarded during April 19 Luncheon

Sgt. Robert Rangel (center) with Methodist Dallas President John Phillips on his right.

A salute to the North Texas hospital workforce, the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) Foundation’s 25th Annual Employee of the Year Luncheon was held April 19 at the Hurst Conference Center. More than 600 attendees turned out to honor 120 nominees and 14 award recipients from health systems across the region.

“We hope this day was as memorable and inspiring for the nominees as it was for us,” said Jen Miff, president of the DFWHC Foundation. “The Foundation is a strong proponent for workforce programs that make a difference in the quality of care for all North Texans. Today’s recognition is critical to boost staff morale, retain a strong workforce and honor the roles of each and every employee who contributes to the successful delivery of patient care, whether at the front line or behind the scenes. All of these nominees deserved to be recognized and it was our honor to applaud them during this luncheon.”

Christine Cashen served as keynote speaker in support of the theme “Celebration of Service.” Becky Tucker, senior vice president channel integration at Texas Health Resources and chair of the DFWHC and DFWHC Foundation Boards, served as master of ceremonies.

One of the highlights was the introduction of Dallas Police Officer Sgt. Robert Rangel to open the program. Sgt. Rangel was onsite at Methodist Dallas Medical Center on October 22, 2022, when two hospitals employees were killed in a shooting on the fourth floor. He was able to injure the suspect and defuse the dangerous situation. The audience gave him a standing ovation.

Award recipients included:

    Rex McRae Scholarship
    Nikki Uribe, ICU Extern, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

    Physician Award
    Dr. Danny C. Holland, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

    Volunteer Award
    Sharon Callahan, Methodist Richardson Medical Center

    Preceptor Award
    Delaney Massey, Registered Nurse – ICU/CCU, Parkland Health

    System Award
    Angela Vincent Michael, Director Performance Improvement, Methodist Health System

    Community Service Award
    Charmie Faith Frykman, Registered Nurse, UT Southwestern University Hospitals

    Special Recognition Awards
    Michelle Garrett, Patient Care Technician, Methodist Midlothian Medical Center
    Natalia De Villa Pulido, Registered Nurse, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – McKinney
    Julie Green, Pathology Assistant, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center
    Sonya Manibusan, Volunteer/Guest Services, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas

    Employee of the Year Awards
    Gereldene Dodson, Registered Nurse, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Kaufman
    Stephen Aryeetey, Registered Nurse, Medical City Las Colinas
    Beth Stewart, Nursing Supervisor, Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital HEB
    Sarah Gartner, Nursing Operations Specialist, Parkland Health

Board members of the North Texas Chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives judged the blinded nominations on March 7. Individual and hospital names were removed in advance and selections were based entirely on the facts presented within the form letter. Nominees were separated into four categories of hospitals including 1-99 beds, 100-250 beds, 251-499 beds and 500-plus beds.

Top sponsors of the event were Hall Render, FORVIS, GroupOne Background Screening, Konica Minolta, Baylor Scott & White Health, Children’s Health, Cook Children’s, Methodist Health System, Parkland Health and Texas Health Resources. Additional sponsors included JPS Health Network, Kindred Hospitals, Medical City Healthcare and UT Southwestern University Hospitals.

All photographs by Jerry McClure.

Christine Cashen (l to r), Becky Tucker, Stephen Love and Jen Miff

Rex McRae recipient Nikki Uribe of Methodist Mansfield

Dr. Danny C. Holland of Methodist Dallas

Delaney Massey of Parkland Health

Angela Vincent Michael of Methodist Health System

Charmie Faith Frykman of UT Southwestern University Hospitals

Natalia De Villa Pulido (left) of Baylor Scott & White McKinney and Stephen Love of DFWHC