Deadline to register for Patient Safety Summit is Sept. 5!

The deadline to register for the DFW Hospital Council (DFWHC) Foundation’s 16th Annual Patient Safety Summit is Tuesday, September 5. The virtual event opens September 7 and continues September 14, 21 and 28. The educational sessions will take place each day from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon, CT.

Themed “Reset and Recharge: Back to Basics in Healthcare,” this year’s event will open with Keynote Speaker Alex Dorr from Reality Based Leadership, LLC. Dorr’s presentation titled “The Reality of Peace, Happiness and Great Results at Work,” will detail counterintuitive strategies for a more enlightened way of viewing the true value of an employee’s talents.

Additional topics and speakers include:

Thursday, September 14
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m., Dr. Christina Cordero, The Joint Commission, “Health Equity – The Joint Commission Resources”
11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m., Erin Lawler-Hart, The Joint Commission, “Sexual Assault/Abuse Standard”

Thursday, September 21
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m., Linda Stimmel, Attorney at Law, “How to Protect Your License Before the Board”
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, Jim Caauwe and Michael Zetsche, Baylor Scott & White Health, “Drug Diversion: A Comprehensive Process for Prevention and Identification”

Thursday, September 28
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m., Brett Stanley and Katherine Tang, MHS CARES, “Putting the Care in Care”
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, Cheryl Mart and Mary Teague, Texas Health Faith-Based Nursing, “A Time for Renewal.”

There will be 6.0 hours of continuing education credits available, pending approval.

Sponsorships and tickets are now available. You can find details here.

For information, please contact Patti Taylor at

In support of improving patient care, this activity has been planned and implemented by the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and the DFW Hospital Council Foundation. The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.